Behind the Page: STANLEY

Note:
This is a behind the scenes look at a coloring page I made for a reward for people who donate to my NaNoWriMo Night of Writing Dangerously fund.
Find our more info about that here!

This quote is from the book STANLEY.
I love it because, really, what else do you need to be happy?
More about the book and where I got the quote will be up on my other blog.
Here I’ll be concentrating on how I drew the quote.

Since this is a long quote, I knew I wanted to print it out,
but I still wanted to do something slightly different for the words
NICE, KIND, and HAPPY.

Those really stand out in the sentence, so I decided to make them a little bit bigger on the page.
It took many tries to get the lettering and spacing down;
I had to figure out how big I wanted each line to be
while allowing everything to fit.  

Once I did, I got to work making the block letters in pencil,
Then tracing them with a pen,
And finally making a clean copy on the light box.

The clean copy was cleaned up a bit more on the computer,
Then the book info was added.
Another one that came together rather quickly without too much fuss.
I feel like Stanley would have liked that fact.

I really like that I didn’t change the font for NICE, KIND, or HAPPY.
It’s a subtle difference, but you can really notice it when you color in all the words.

  

You can get this coloring sheet and more by donating to my NaNoWriMo fund for the Night of Writing Dangerously. $10 dollars gets you five coloring sheets, while $20 gets you all ten. You can even get a custom coloring sheet if you donate more! Click the link above to find out more about it!

Another one done!
And soon I’ll have a story of another!
Thanks for reading along!

KE

Leave a comment