Behind the page: Yay You! Coloring page

This is a behind the scenes look at a coloring page I made for a reward for people who donate to my NaNoWriMo Night of Writing Dangerously fund.
Find our more info about that here!

This quote is from the book YAY, YOU!
I love it because it’s so sweet and encouraging all at once.
More about the book and where I got the quote will be up on my other blog.
I’ll link to then when it gets posted (it will be tomorrow!)
Here I’ll be concentrating on how I drew the quote.   Originally I wanted to do the whole quote that I pulled out from the book,
and I actually did.
I don’t have a picture of that, but the words were really small.
It would be hard to color them at all.

It took me a little while to let go of the first part of the quote:
it’s so reassuring and adds so much to the end.
But these are coloring sheets.
And if people couldn’t color them, that sort of defeated the purpose, didn’t it?
Plus, I have the information about the book in the bottom corner.
People can go check it out and get the whole quote.
That made me feel better.

I knew I wanted the last bit: be great/you already are
to be bigger. I wasn’t sure I wanted it to be cursive,
which you can see if you look closely at the picture.    here are some pencil block letters hanging out.
But I thought cursive all together looked better.

For this one I actually folded the paper into sixths.
I wasn’t going to follow the spacing strictly,
but it gave me a sort of guideline for what to do.   This helped out A LOT.

After that it was a matter of scripting it out,
drawing around the letters for coloring room,
and tracing over all that pencil with pen.

Then it was to the lightbox,
tracing a clean copy,
scanning, and going into Microsoft Paint.
I cleaned up a little bit of the lines,
added the bit about the book
and it was done!

I know I make it sound so easy, but the whole process probably took about two hours.
I have to make sure I’m being very careful (which is really hard for me)
when I’m going the tracing bits.

I’m happy with the way this one turned out,
even if I DID have to lose that first part of the quote.    ou u can get this coloring sheet and more by donating to my NaNoWriMo fund for the Night of Writing Dangerously. $10 dollars gets you five coloring sheets, while $20 gets you all ten. You can even get a custom coloring sheet if you donate more! Click the link above to find out more about it!

See you later with another behind the page look!

KE

Leave a comment